Burda 11/2008 Dress 111 ……It’s a Jungle Out There

This is the second unintentional jungle themed item for the month of January although I’m posting it in February. I have 2 more cut out but didn’t get them done in time, I’m determined to finish them soon though because I don’t want any UFO’s hanging around.

The dress is from the Burda World of Fashion magazine, edition 11/2008. I made dress 111, a fitted sheath dress with a wide jewel neckline and waist seam.

    magazine photo

I chose this dress as I had made it before with minimal alterations and it was already traced. My fabric is a Safari silky saturn bark in beige colourway (100% polyester) and for the lining I used black bemsilk (100% acetate).

front 3  front  front 1

 The instructions are bearable but don’t include a lining but I added one so it’s a nice clean finish for the dress. I tackled the pleat issues by making the lining the same as the dress fabric and sewed up the lining right to the edges of the armholes and neckline, essentially bagging the dress. It’s hard to see from my fabric the 4 pleats at the neckline and 2 at the waist but it adds a nice detail.

close up

I inserted a black invisible zipper at the back. First I ironed on some fusible interfacing to the back seam and then sewed on the zipper. The fabric is quite thin and I wanted some stability. I didn’t make the belt instructed and figured I would wear a skinny belt I already own although made thread belt loops as my fabric is quite slippery and the belt would not stay in place.back 1

For the hem I turned and topstitched, nothing exciting here to report.

The fit of this dress is good for me as the waist is high compared to other designs and seems to sit more at my natural waist. I did remove about 2 inches from the centre upper back but that was all. I will be making this again some time, stay tuned.

side 1

I think this is more a fabric issue than anything but you can see when I stand completely side on (left photo) the fabric appears to lay flat however when on a slight angle (right photo) the fabric poofs out at the pleats in the skirt. It’s not enough of an issue to bother me but could perhaps be overcome by tacking the pleats down. 

One thought on “Burda 11/2008 Dress 111 ……It’s a Jungle Out There

  1. Pingback: Burda 11/2008 Dress 111 with Modern Metal | tinkerandstitcher

Leave a Reply

