Make it a Kwik Sew 3728 Skirt in Denim

I’m glad to finally be marking off an item from my 2015 SWAP. I used Kwik Sew 3728 which is now OOP and although originally planned to make view B, I made view A as I felt it could be dressed up or down a bit more.

front                       side  back

I fell into 2 sizes with this pattern and decided to go with the smaller of the two as the denim (95% cotton/5% spandex) in indigo colour, had a fair bit of stretch. The fabric was a remnant left from my Sewaholic Thurlow trousers I had modified into maternity pants with an elasticised waist and fake fly some 3 years ago, pre blog obviously. The reason I mention this is because I didn’t have enough fabric to get the full width of the skirt by about 1/2 inch (cut S instead of M for last part of hem), only a minor change really. I figured it wasn’t overly important given the a-line shape of the skirt and the front pleat, there is definitely enough fabric still in the skirt to not affect the fit.

skirt width

The other interesting thing was this little tidbit on the front skirt pattern piece. I have never seen it before and wondered why a company would print that given that not all the population can make a garment straight from the packaging and require fit changes. Does anyone know the reason for this? And is it printed on all Kwik Sew patterns? Now I’m curious and must check my stash to see if this is the case. Also I urge you if you are interested to check the Kwik Sew site as on the resources tab that have some educational material which is quite helpful.

info

The skirt went together really quickly and was finished in a night. I used a light interfacing for the waistband as the denim was already quite thick and didn’t want too much bulk. I inserted a 7 inch (18cm) black invisible zip as that is what I had on hand on interfaced seams to strengthen the area.zip interfacing

The changes I made were to hand stitch the waistband from the inside rather the instructed stitch in the ditch which never ends up neat and even for me. All seams were neatened with the overlocker and the hem was also serged and then turned up by about 8cm and then hand stitched in place. This skirt is a no brainer if completely done by machine as instructed.

The photos were taken after a day of wearing the skirt and there hasn’t been too much stretching out of the fabric. I can see there is a small gap between the zip and waistband but I’m not too fussed about it. I’m happy with the fit and style of this skirt and think if I make it again I would love to add some pockets.

back opening

 

One thought on “Make it a Kwik Sew 3728 Skirt in Denim

  1. Pingback: The Schoolday Skirt, First One Breaks the Rules, Second is Bright As …… | tinkerandstitcher

Leave a Reply

