Twirl to Me Dress in Pixel Purple

When the Twirl to Me Dress was released by Debbie from Lily Sage & Co I rushed in and bought it, especially after seeing her delightful kids modelling it and the others that appeared on the blogosphere. I really liked this pattern because it’s girly, lots of twirl factor for the kids and has potential for lots of variations.

twirl to me dress front

                                                                                       twirl to me dress front (2)

I used this spots and stripes #6 pixel in purple poplin (100% cotton) chosen by my daughter because it contains all her favourite colours – pink, purple and the newly acquired red. I cut a 5 thinking it may be big because of the ease of the dress but thought if she was swimming in it I could take in the side seams a smidge. As it turns out width-wise it’s a good fit but may be a little long. She doesn’t mind and I don’t because it means getting extra wear out of it. The PDF pattern went together without a hitch. I found the instructions really thorough and clear with good diagrams. I also really like the tips sections and the order of construction outlining the finishing techniques and when to apply them which results in a really neat inside.

I chose to do the fabric button loops for aesthetic reasons but elastic would probably be more practical, having said that we don’t have to undo them to get the dress on and off. I finished my side seams with the overlocker but used 12mm white bias binding for the armholes and hem, which was rather long.

twirl to me dress backtwirl to me dress side

It was a quick sew, finished in a night. I did however cut a size 3 for the bow as I didn’t want it too big and I interfaced it for some structure. I was thinking about sewing up a plain pink bow so we could interchange them but I also think it will show up the details a bit more but dear daughter flat out refused. Who am I to argue?

I do see more of these in my future and I would like to size it down also to fit my little one, obviously also at a shorter length too.

PS. My model made some funny faces and weird arm gestures during the photos – never work with kids or animals!!!

twirl to me dress twirling 2

Leave a Reply

