Navy Nautical Sewaholic Lonsdale Dress

I have been imagining sewing this Lonsdale dress for such a long time and finally got around to it. It is my second Sewaholic pattern that I have sewn yet is one of four that I own, I will get around to the others eventually. I really like their patterns, the fit and the clear diagrams and instructions and of course the blog, which is how I got to know about them years ago.

Lonsdale dress front 2

                        Lonsdale dress back 2 Lonsdale side

I made view A using some navy nautical voile #2 abstract (100% cotton). The bodice requires it to be self lined as the ties are an extension off the bodice and the underside is visible when tied up. I probably should have lined the skirt however, as it is a light fabric and a bit transparent in the sunlight.

Unfortunately with the busy fabric it is hard to see some of the features of the pattern, like the nice sized pockets. I inserted a 16″ (40cm) black invisible zip (ooops! that’s all I had) at the back but first ironed on some interfacing on the seam allowance for strength. My seams were neatened with the overlocker and I did a narrow machine hem.

Lonsdale dress back

I think this is a very flattering silhouette and fit well all over generally, however I did have some gaping at the underarm area near the bust line, particularly noticeable in the first photo, although depending on how I stand it seems to correct itself. After wearing the dress for the day I decided to take out about 2 cm from each side by making 2 darts at the neckline, fortunately this is when the busy print did come in handy as they are barely noticeable. I ended up making them about 10cm long. Next time I will correct for this in the pattern.

fix up front

Fix up side

The only thing is that once the dress is on it is near impossible to tie the bow in the back but I can get it on and off without having to undo and re tie the bow. I think others have mentioned this too. Next time I make this I will either use a plain fabric or one with a bigger print to highlight the design details. I am also envisioning making this into a skirt as I really like the pocket construction and fit of the bottom half. Until next time.

One thought on “Navy Nautical Sewaholic Lonsdale Dress

  1. Pingback: Simplicity 1354 Dress in Navy Broadcloth | tinkerandstitcher

Leave a Reply

