New Look 6130 Floral Peplum Top

I am a little slow to jump on the self-made peplum bandwagon although have some RTW, but alas I have made one and have another ready to go. I haven’t sewn up this pattern before but the reviews are all pretty positive. I used New Look 6130 paired here with my recently made New Look 6107 white skirt.

New Look 6130 side                            New Look 6130 frontNew Look 6130 side 2

I did a bit of a mash up of views for the top, using the bodice from view C and the sleeves and peplum from view B. My fabric is printed floral in white cotton sateen (96% cotton/4% spandex). There are so many colours in this top that it should get lots of wear over time. I followed the instructions to the letter and found the finish around the armhole to be neat as it is finished with a facing once the sleeve is attached to enclose all seams. The armhole facings are sewn on top of the neckline facing to keep the neckline facing flat and from flipping out.

New Look bias and facing

I only had a cream 20cm invisible zip in the stash so used that. The zipper pull doesn’t show too much of a difference in colour, besides my hair covers it.

New Look 6130 back

I found the sizing pretty accurate and I like the princess seam bodice as it makes for a close fit. I think next time though I will take out about 1cm from the front neckline as there is some gaping. I also find the upper back a bit loose and will also take out about 2cm from the back centre seam in future. I tend to need to make this alteration quite frequently – not sure what it is called.

The peplum also has a bit of a difference in that it has pleats at the front and back. The seams lined up pretty close here. Both the peplum and sleeve New look 6130 seamshems were finished off with a narrow 5/8″ manual rolled hem.

I was almost defeated by this project however because while trimming my armhole seam allowances I cut a hole in the left upper back. I interfaced the hole from the inside and then hand stitched a pink flower over the hole. The result is far from great but hopefully not visible to the untrained eye. I really should have left it and come back to it the following morning rather than fix it at 11:30pm, experience has taught me lots of mistakes happen when I am tired and late at night, you would think I have learnt my lesson by now.

New Look cut

New Look fixRegardless, I have found in my short sewing career, New Look patterns fit me quite well with minimal changes and I like that they have quite modern silhouettes. I will be on the look out for more at the next sale!

Leave a Reply

