Cyan Lily Dress by Mandy K Designs

I feel like I am really pumping out these kids clothes at the moment. I think the motivation is higher because they are such quick projects, most of the time, and I can get nice results using small pieces of fabric.

Don’t tell my daughter but this dress is made from those small pieces, kind of! For the bodice I actually used a navy knit t-shirt, size small, as I actually bought it for myself a while back along with some elastic gold sequins to make a fancy top – well we all know how that plan went. The skirt fabric is what was left over from one of my dresses pre blog..

cyla dress front 2

cyla dress front 3

The pattern is the Cyan Lily dress from Mandy K Design. The bodice can either be made in knit or woven as can the skirt. I chose the knit bodice to eliminate making closures. The bodice is self-lined using the burrito method as per the instructions to ensure all seams are enclosed. There is a tiny bit of hand stitching necessary to finish the seam where the back neckline attaches to the back bodice. The back neckline requires fusible interfacing but I didn’t have any so chose to omit it, but like the instructions mention, it would have helped to keep the shape of the neckline a bit more. The skirt is made from some modern tribe poplin 9312 in ink (100% cotton), which has been lined with white top pop poplin (80%polyester/20% cotton) as the fabric is transparent in the sun.

cyla dress back

I didn’t have much of the tribe print remaining after my dress so had to narrow the width of the skirt by 7 inches in the end, but it still turned out. I chose to do a narrow machine hem for both layers. I also decided to attach hand made belt loops at the side seams in case we decide to style it with a belt.

Everything went together really smoothly, from PDF cutting and taping, to sewing up the completed garment. All in a nights work practically. According to the designer, the inspiration for this dress came from Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffanys, which is evident from the neckline. It would be cute to make a black version and do a copy cat photo shoot but chances of that happening are …….minimal.

cyla dress side

One thought on “Cyan Lily Dress by Mandy K Designs

  1. Pingback: Scrapbusting… Self-drafted Skirts, a Molly top and some Gathered Pocket Shorts | tinkerandstitcher

Leave a Reply

