A Bird Meets a Foxglove Tank

Depending on how you look at it, this top was made in 2016 using the Foxglove Tank by Baste + Gather, but technically I started in March of 2015.

You see, I started off with the free sorbetto tank by Colette Patterns and foolishly finished the entire top, bias binding, hem, you name it. Low and behold when I put it on it, was a tight fit everywhere and too short. I must have chosen the wrong size to start with, although that really didn’t affect the length. I hung it in a cupboard for months deciding what to do with it and finally unpicked everything except the side seams. Now the fit was off and adding gathers or pleats at the neckline weren’t solving any issues. Back in the cupboard it went.

Foxglove tank frontFoxglove tank side 4      Foxglove tank side 3

Well this year I finally decided it couldn’t be salvaged to make something for myself so I cut another tank using the left over printed poly CDC# 2 birdcage multi (100% polyester) fabric I had, and lucky I had enough. The foxglove has a loose fit, can be in knit or woven and you can add centre seams or cut on the fold like I did, because I didn’t want to break up the pattern. From start to finish it was a really quick sew and I salvaged the cream 12mm single fold bias binding from the first version to use for the neckline and armholes here. The instructions are really thorough and provide lots of information in regards to finishes and decorative features. I think I need to lower the armhole next time and possibly go the next size up at the bust, or do and FBA, as it is a tad tight, but still wearable.

Foxglove tank back 2

The foxglove has an obvious hi-lo hem which makes it great for wearing over leggings and slim capris but also it’s long enough at the front to wear as a blouse tucked in. I also love the racer back style. There really are lots of possibilities to alter this pattern. I think adding a peter pan collar and leveling off the hem would make it a gorgeous blouse.

Leave a Reply

