Walker Kids Jeans by Momma Quail

Although winter is a few months off yet, my miss 4 is seriously lacking in the winter wardrobe, and I’m trying to be organised. The Walker jeans from Momma Quail Patterns were just the pattern I needed, I put my hand up straight away to test* them.

They are a relaxed fit jean with a bootcut and straight leg option in both full length jeans or shorts. The other thing is that there is an adjustable buttonhole elastic waist, full functioning zip fly and five-pocket styling, just like real jeans!!!! . The jeans are drafted for boys sized 12 months to 14 years but as you can see, they are perfect for little girls too. The PDF pattern has no-trim pages, always a bonus! and a layered printing option and also instructions for distressing your denim.

Lace pocket front   Lace pocket front 2 Lace pocket back

For all of mine I used the straight leg pattern. I made version 1 using a pair of my jeans that I have hardly ever worn. It’s a nice soft denim with cotton/elastane. I managed to get a size 5 kids pair from a women’s size 12 jeans. I followed all the instructions as specified and can confidently say you will find making these surprisingly easy with all the pictorials and thorough instructions. I wanted to add a bit of interest to these so made lace bows for the back pockets. I accidentally also hemmed them a bit too short but have since let the hem down.

The pattern underwent some minor changes such as narrowing the outer hip/leg so I made up another two pairs. The dark blue was using some rigid blue denim (unknown fibre content but stiff – we need to wash them a few times). I did some decorative pocket top stitching which is hard to see and am waiting to get some iron-on sparkles to highlight this.

                                        Blue front              Blue back

My third and final pair was made using a light weight summer vintage flower african wax print denim (poly/cotton). My theory behind this pair was that it would be a trans-seasonal pair of jeans that could be rolled up for warmer weather. Love how they turned out.

  Floral front      Floral back Capri front Capri back

So we have quickly ended up with 3 new wardrobe items. There was another change from the versions you see here to the final pattern and that was 1/2″ was removed from the front rise and the back yoke.

This is truly a great pattern, well thought out and drafted with great instructions, a large size range and unisex. A complete package. Don’t miss out and get the pattern 20% off up until the 14th March 2016.

*The pattern was provided to me free of charge for testing but all opinions expressed are my own and I received a copy of the finalised pattern for taking part.

2 thoughts on “Walker Kids Jeans by Momma Quail

  1. Pingback: Momma Quail’s Walker Jeans & Shorts Pattern Review | Knot Sew Normal

  2. Pingback: Walker Jeans By Momma Quail Patterns

Leave a Reply

