White Salamanca Cropped Jacket by Itch To Stitch

Just like I have favourite “Big 4” patterns that fit perfectly, I have some favourite independent designers whose patterns and instructions are always a success for me. Itch to Stitch is one such designer, so when testing calls go out for Kennis’ patterns I always apply. She had four patterns go into testing at once and I went with the Salamanca Cropped Jacket*.

I had it in my head that I wanted a white leather jacket and in fact it turned out better than I expected. I used faux ivory leatherette (60% PU/ 40% poly) and multi ivory printed rayon folkloric (100% rayon) for the lining. I made things difficult by using this fabric as there are no second chances if you sew a seam wrong. Probably not ideal for a tester version but my faith in Kennis’ instructions proved correct. I do have some minor puckers in the yoke but not highly visible, probably not worth mentioning at all really.

Salamanca skirt side Salamanca skirt side 2                          Salamanca skirt back

It’s not a difficult sew by any means, but it is a bit fiddly and requires concentration to ensure you are lining up the correct notches and turning the fabric the correct way. You may have noticed my jacket is without buttons but finding suitable ones has proved difficult and I’m a bit afraid, well a lot afraid, of making buttonholes in this fabric and not liking the end result if my buttons are duds. It sits good just the way it is for now.

Slamanca front Salamanca lining

The Salamanca isn’t a ridiculously cropped jacket, it sits at a nice level, and has some nice details, such as the pleats at the front and gathered raglan sleeves. I love how it is completely lined and provides different pattern pieces for A to DD cup and of course the layers print option.

Salamnca pants front                     Salamanca pants sideSalamanca pants back

Fabric choice will dictate the style/look of the jacket from a work wardrobe staple, party jacket or spring/autumn second layer.

*The pattern was provided to me free of charge for testing but all opinions expressed are my own and I received a copy of the finalised pattern for taking part.

3 thoughts on “White Salamanca Cropped Jacket by Itch To Stitch

  1. Pingback: Georgia Tops by DesignerStitch Patterns | tinkerandstitcher

Leave a Reply

