Floral Dakota Blazer by Laela Jeyne Patterns

This is the 3rd test garment I have sewn for Laela Jeyne Patterns. The first, the Little Birdie Dress, hasn’t been blogged yet, and the second were the Comfy Cozy Pj’s.

I applied to test* the Dakota blazer as I liked the high-low hemline and also the tulip type shape of the front. It has a slim fit, with darts on the back and is completely lined, and while the lining is made from woven, the outer can be constructed from either woven or knit fabric. This is a non-cut PDF pattern but it’s important to follow printing and taping instructions to ensure everything fits together right.

dakota Front Dakota liningI chose black multi printed bright floral sateen (97% cotton/ 3 % spandex) as my outer fabric and crimson drill (100% cotton) for the lining. The lining was constructed first to check fit and make any relevant pattern changes which is always a good idea when constructing a garment such as this. My photos are not of the final pattern as I believe some little details have been added to the pattern and instructions that differ to what we had during testing. Marisa was very open to accepting our feedback and making relevant changes to ensure it was a well fitting product. The overall shape has remained the same however.

The pattern comes with the recommendation of adding a two button closure but I decided to go with one instead. It just feels like it sits better on me that way.

Dakota side                      Dakota side 2 Dakota Back 2

I believe this is definitely a statement jacket due to my fabric choice but it is comfortable. Also if you are pregnant or planning a pregnancy, the style of the Dakota blazer accommodates the baby bump, therefore a highly versatile pattern and a good investment.

*The pattern was provided to me free of charge for testing but all opinions expressed are my own and I received a copy of the finalised pattern for taking part.

Leave a Reply

