The Chambray Clarissa Dress

The Clarissa Dress by MCM Studio Designs is the perfect classic, trans-seasonal dress for the little girls in your life. There is a long and short sleeve option with a button back closure. I recently tested* this pattern and although normally I like to make a second version before blogging, I ran out of time. There haven’t been any major changes to the design itself, more so just to the written instructions.

I chose to make mine in some chambray (100% cotton) which is a great choice for the spring/summer, but no so practical for colder weather. I made the long sleeve version while testing for the purpose of adding winter appropriate clothes, and using some white broadcloth (100% cotton) for the sleeve extension, but the two fabrics just don’t work well together. The photos below show what it looked like originally, but I have since removed the sleeve extension and will think more sensibly about fabric choices for the next one.

                 Clarissa side Clarissa front Clarissa back

The pattern and instructions themselves both go together well and are well written, supported by good pictorials. There is a lovely pleated bodice and gathered sleeves with a ruffle trim. It is an empire waist silhouette with a slight upwards curve at the front and back, with a gathered skirt.

I will be making more but first I need to sort out the correct mash of fabrics 🙂 I also love the idea of shortening it to a tunic. I may just also shorten this version to knee length when spring rolls around.

The Clarissa Dress pattern is being released on Thursday 12th May (US) and from the 12th -21st the introductory price is $5.00 (half the regular price), a perfect time to buy it!

www.themerrychurchmouse.com
www.mcmstudiodesigns.etsy.com
http://www.craftsy.com/user/714750/pattern-store…

*The pattern was provided to me free of charge for testing but all opinions expressed are my own and I received a copy of the finalised pattern for taking part.

2 thoughts on “The Chambray Clarissa Dress

Leave a Reply

