Lena Pants… or my Tencel Harems by DesignerStitch Patterns

I never got into the harem pants trend, it wasn’t really my look and I thought the low crotch and excess fabric would be bothersome. Well, low and behold I made a pair. Ann from DesignerStitch Patterns put a call out for testers* for the Lena pants just as the Jenny dress testing had come to a close. That dress fit perfectly and the pattern and instructions were spot on so thought to give these a try. I was swayed by the fact they were a modified version of a harem pant with a less pronounced drop crotch. They have a self fabric cuff, pockets, elastic waistband and optional drawstring on the waistband. I used tencel fabric, light weight dark wash denim (not sure of content) for mine, hoping to have a casual pair of pants.

                 Lena pants side                                              Lena pants front

Using fabric with good drape is a must for this pattern. Other testers were far more creative and used sarongs for their versions.

Construction was actually super fast. I didn’t encounter any problems from printing to ironing the last seam.

Lena pants front 2Lena pants back

The verdict…. These came out better than I anticipated, I wasn’t sure if they would make me look bottom heavy . I now have a comfortable, casual go to pair of pants that are functional for playing with the kids. Not my normal silhouette buy I’m glad I tried them out. There may be a “dressier” pair in the horizon but I have a pile of other selfish sewing to get through first.

*The pattern was provided to me free of charge for testing, all opinions expressed are my own and I received a copy of the finalised pattern for taking part.

Leave a Reply

