Sew by Pattern Pieces Ladies Fun Tee Blog Tour

I have bought many paper patterns for t shirts in the past and have yet to sew one up. I usually just buy tees because they are so cheap but then after a few wears I am reminded why I sew. The option of quality fabric, the fit, the style, the uniqueness, ….. the lists goes on.

So when Lauren from Sew by Pattern Pieces asked if I would like to join the blog tour for the Ladies Fun Tee. It finally gave me an excuse to sew up some tees using the ideas I had brewing in my head. Given that it is the festive season, it was perfect timing to introduce a couple of new tops into my wardrobe that would be practical for this time of year and beyond.

The great thing about this pattern is the endless design options. It really is great value. You can make a Fitted or Relaxed Body Shape with either Short, Long, Gathered Short or Gathered Long Sleeve combined with a Round, Scoop or V Neck… take a breath…. Not to mention it also comes in Australian sizes 6 to 26 but also has separate pattern pieces for Size A B C D DD E cups. This pattern really is perfect.

white-front-close            white-back-close

The instructions are really thorough with details on choosing the right size, right through to tips on sewing with knits with excellent step-wise instructions with matching pictorials throughout. There is also the option of AO copy shop file or print at home with the layers option, something I really love about PDF patterns.

white-front white-back

Back to sewing, which is probably why you are here. My first version is a white lace tee using white combed cotton jersey (100% cotton) and stretch corded lace in chalk colour (98% nylon/2% spandex). The front is double layered with the jersey underneath and the lace on top which I treated as a single layer throughout construction. I sewed up my tee as instructed using the scoop neck with short sleeves and the fitted body, and didn’t have any issues whatsoever with understanding them or with the fit for that matter and used a narrow zig zag stitch on my sewing machine and then neatened by seams with the serger. I am most pleased however with the perfect neckband I ended up with 🙂

neckline-close

My white tee was perfect when paired with a dressy skirt and heels to attend my work christmas dinner. Not too formal but still classy. This tee will also be a work horse when worn with jeans and sandals throughout the summer. I think it will be a really valuable wardrobe staple for me.

silver-side-close silver-back-clost

Version two of my Ladies Fun tee was to inject a bit of fun into those christmas picnics. I used some knit collection # 3 metallic in grey/silver (96% poly/4% spandex), not a very forgiving fabric but I love the bling. It can instantly elevate a casual outfit but I think will look great when paired with a dressy skirt and heels.

                                               silver-front silver-side

I deviated from the pattern for this one a bit and used both the scoop and v-neck to create a more open neckline and consequently had to alter the neck band pattern piece to accommodate for this. This was again the short sleeve with the fitted bodice, only because christmas in Australia is in summer so short sleeves are more practical this time of year. Although I have worn it with the v-neck at the front here, I have actually worn it back to front for a different look. I’m hoping to make another version sometime and make the v-neck lower to have a statement back. Stay tuned for that!

Today we have seen amazing gift giving patterns on the market,  

which one will you grab hold of and sew for a friend or family member?
 
Don’t miss any of the posts on the 
 
(Note: the links below will not work until their scheduled day, but feel free to click through and check out the rest of their blogs anytime!)
 
Tour runs from Tuesday 13th- Friday 16th December 2016
Day 1 Tuesday 13th _ Lauren Wernli and Tibeca Yao
Day 2 Wednesday 14th _ Thao Luxa and Sarah Hoggett

 Day 3 Thursday 15th _ Anne-Mari Orgla and Angie Kyp

 Day 4 Friday 16th _ Nelleke van der Haar (Rounding up the Tour)

Lauren has worked in collaboration with the following pattern designers to give away some awesome patterns and you just need to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to win:

  No automatic alt text available.No automatic alt text available.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sew by Pattern Pieces Ladies Fun Tee Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: The Christmas gift giving Tour with Sew by Pattern Pieces

  2. Pingback: Gaafmachine – Let’s have some fun ladies!

Leave a Reply

