Not a 2016 Sewing Round-Up or a 2017 Resolutions Post

I’m not doing a round-up this year of what I have made or worn most or least but I’m just checking in with you all.

It’s been a busy year for a number of reasons for me and sewing productivity has been lower than other years but more to the point, blogging has been sparse to say the least. I think I have about 20 posts that are half written, here’s hoping the new year will get that number down.

I’m not making sewing, or any life resolutions for that matter for 2017 either. I am simply making some broad statements about things that I hope to have completed by the end of 2017 but may well be carried over into the following few years …. it’s really a work in progress.

Firstly, I plan on working through my 2017 Summer SWAP, which by the time I finish, it may be winter anyway. Having seen Pantones spring fashion colour for 2017 – Greenery, and the other top 9 colours, I’m glad I’ve hit the money with my plan and seem to be on track for a “fashionable” wardrobe.

pantone-color-swatches-fashion-color-report-fall-2017

Source: PANTONE Fashion Color Report Spring 2017

Secondly, I’m working on creating a wardrobe that I can look into and would be happy to wear any item. At the moment I wear things just because that’s what is there and I often wear things I don’t like. I’d like to change that so that I love everything I wear and I have lots of options.

Lastly, I have made a recent discovery about myself and my wardrobe however. Although I love me some prints, I have finally established that solid colours are my preferred item of clothing to wear. Probably due to the simplicity of dressing and the fact you can co-ordinate a number of items together. So moving forward I hope to fill more of those gaps and to add some patterned flair whenever I feel like it.

Happy sewing for 2017 everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

