What Has Sewing Taught Me …. ?

First and foremost I think it has taught me the styles and silhouettes that don’t flatter me more so than those that do. This has naturally changed over the years due to the natural progression of certain body changes however it also has to do with personal taste and first and foremost lifestyle comfort.

Sewing has enabled me to make things I thought I’d like but upon completion don’t feel right wearing. These items were such that I would probably never spend money buying in a store anyway. I don’t feel so guilty donating or refashioning/thrifting fabric from a project that hasn’t turned out quite right because more often than not it has been a labour of love. Also helped by the fact I have 2 young girls that love wearing mamma made and often my project failures leave me with enough fabric to make something for them.

I have established after a few recent makes that elastic waistbands in dresses are not my friend. It makes my tummy bulge even bigger or maybe they just don’t hit me at the right point. Additionally the empire waist is not flattering for me, those items have become “house” dresses but yet I still am attracted to trying those certain styles because they look so nice on others.

Sewing for me though isn’t just about the materialistic outcome of making something wearable, that not only fits well but is also fashionable, it’s probably more to do with the emotional and mental journey.

Sewing has taught me self-confidence to try new techniques and even though lifes’ journey may otherwise be difficult or frustrating at times, sewing is my outlet, it just makes me feel good!! And the more you practice, the better you get, that’s a given.

I always thought of myself as a patient person but sewing needs lots of it. I don’t have stretches of uninterrupted sewing time so things may take longer to complete, especially if a mistake has crept into the process. Same goes for wanting to sew everything yesterday! My sewing list was growing so long at one stage, I have since abandoned it. Likewise, it’s not only a problem solving activity but at times requires perserverance and persistance and the need to the leave the perfectionist at the door. No-one else can see that slightly uneven row of stitching, or will know you used the wrong interfacing, we in the sewing community are often our own worst enemy. Not to mention to know when to walk away from a project. My most important technical lesson I have learnt to date is to never sew when tired!!!!!

My sewing room is my happy place, albeit the messiest room in house. Maybe like minded sewists will understand that for me “organised chaos breeds  creativity”. Not to mention how pretty and colourful it looks with the excess amount of fabric 🙂
HAPPY SEWING HOWEVER MESSY OR NEAT IT MAY BE!!!
What have you learnt in your sewing journey to date?

 

Leave a Reply

